African Democratic Congress

African Democratic Congress
  • PARTY HEADQUARTERS: The ADC has its headquarters in FCT, Abuja. No.2 Fez/Kumasi Crescent, Wuse 2, Off Aminu Kano by Samsung/Panasonic Opposite FERMA.
  • YEAR OF FORMATION: The African Democratic Congress was formed in 2005 with the name Alliance for Democratic Change.
  • PROMINENT PERSONS STILL IN THE PARTY: Olusegun Obasanjo, Ralphs Okey Nwosu, Mrs Ifeyinwa Ntima, Mr Cavin Algoa, Alh. Said Baba Abdullahi
  • HISTORY OF THE PARTY: The party was changed from Alliance for Democratic Change to its current name, African Democratic Congress. The name of the party was changed when it got registered with INEC. The goal for the name change is for the party to have the ability “to effectively encompass and reflect the aspirations of our people.” In October 2005 the pioneers met and reviewed their activities, they raised 755,000 members and supporters. As of January 10th, 2006 the members numbered 1,350,000, and with the presence of the infant organization in all 36 states of the federation and FCT.
  • HIGHEST POSITION ATTAINED BY THE PARTY: In 2015 there were 5 ADC members that occupied seats in the House of Representatives, all representing constituencies in Oyo state. Hon. Abiodun Olasupo represents the Iseyin/Itesiwaju/Kajola/Iwajowa constituency, Hon. Adeyemi Sunday Adepoju represents the Ibarapa East/Ido constituency, Hon. Olusunbo Samson represents the Oluyole Local Govt. constituency, Hon. represents the Ibadan North-East/ Ibadan South-East constituency and Hon. Akintola Taiwo represents the Ona-Ara/Egbeda constituency
  • POLITICAL LEANINGS AND IDEOLOGY OF THE PARTY: At ADC, it is about Intense and Intentional Leadership – an activity that identifies challenges, gets the people to see the realities in these challenges, collectively evolves adaptive or technical solutions to these problems with a view to ensuring Excellent living conditions for all Nigerian. Leadership is the keyword here that the ADC is going to be driven by, noting that moving a person from ‘Good to Great’ takes a process. Sadly, Nigeria has over the years adopted a culture of mediocrity occasioned by our ‘clan’ mentality or man-know-man syndrome. You have to know somebody somewhere for things to happen to or for you. Leadership must inspire all our activities henceforth, it may sound scary to some, who are used to doing things the old way but nobody should be afraid as everybody will be groomed and taught the new way of doing things. The better way.
  • Party Core Values:
      1. Transparency
      2. Truthfulness
      3. Integrity
      4. Diligence
      5. Leadership
      6. Accountability
      7. Fidelity
      8. Prudence
      9. Selflessness
      10. Compassion
      11. Open-mindedness
      12. Patriotism
      13. Due process
      14. Tenacity
      15. Humility
      16. Detribalized
      17. Fearlessness
  • PRINCIPLES: to achieve these aims, the Party shall with trust, discipline, and faithful leadership endeavor to:
    1. maintain and preserve the integrity, unity, and sovereignty of the Federal Republic of Nigeria as one indivisible political entity;
    2. ensure genuine restoration, permanent entrenchment, and practice of democracy, the rule of law, equity, and social justice;
    3. promote national integration and harmonious co-existence of the diverse communities of our society;
    4. build an egalitarian society founded on the principles of freedom, equality, and justice;
    5. Uphold the independence of the judiciary, a free press, as well as uphold the freedom of speech and of association;
    6. Ensure that only competent, dedicated, patriotic, and credible candidates are sponsored for elective offices at all levels of governance
    7. ensure that the programs of the Party at all levels conform at all times with the fundamental objectives, and directive principles of state policy, as contained in the Constitution of the Federal Republic of Nigeria, as well as conform at all times with the Ethic, Aim, and Objectives of the Constitution of the Party;
    8. Promote mutual respect for and understanding of the religious, traditional, and cultural heritage of the various communities of our nation.
    9. eradicate illiteracy in our society and to promote learning and research, science and technology;
    10. build, promote, sustain and consolidate political, economic, and social independence and self-respect for all Nigerians;
    11. co-operate with Africans and other Nationalist movements and organizations working for the eradication of imperialism, neo-colonialism, racism and to strive relentlessly towards African Unity, as well as greater understanding and cohesion among all peoples of African descent;
    12. Cooperate with all member nations in promoting the course of the Economic Community of West African States. (ECOWAS) the Organization of African Unity (OAU), The Common-wealth, and United Nations Organization (UNO), and other International and regional groupings that shall be in the best interest of Nigeria and Africa; and help to find just and peaceful solutions for international disputes.
    13. build a political culture in which all Nigerians are equal members, where contributes according to his ability, where no one person dominates and no political party belongs to one individual;
  • LARGEST BASE OF THE PARTY: Oyo State as it won its house or representative position there
    1. Presidential Elections; In the 2011 Nigerian Presidential Election, the ADC put forth candidate Rev. Peter Uchenna Nwangwu. He obtained 51,682 votes and placed 8th out of the 20 candidates in the election.
    2. In the 2015 Nigerian Presidential Election, the ADC put forth Dr. Mani Ibrahim Ahamad as their candidate. He obtained 29,665 votes which was 0.10% of the votes cast. He placed 7th out of 14 candidates
    3. In 2019, the ADC put forth former Deputy Governor of the Central Bank of Nigeria Obadiah Mailafia, as a presidential candidate. He won a total of 97,874 votes which was 0.36% of the total votes cast. He placed 4th Candidate.
    4. House of Representatives; As of 2015, there were 5 ADC party members in the House of Representatives and represent constituencies in the Oyo State
    5. ADC won 3 House of Representative seats in 2019.
  • PARTY STRUCTURE: On 10 May 2018, the party was adopted by former Nigerian President, Olusegun Obasanjo’s political movement called the “Coalition for Nigeria Movement” (CNM). Obasanjo now serves as the chairman of the party. Per his speech titled “My Treatise for Future of Democracy and Development in Nigeria”, the goal of the CNM adopting the ADC party was “to work with others for bringing about desirable change in the Nigerian polity and governance”. There are ADC representatives in every state in Nigeria
    1. In order to promote inclusivity, the party has made provisions for women leaders and youth leaders. For instance, at least 2 women must be elected as part of significant committees like wards and executive committees. It also makes provision for youth leaders and groups.
  • SOCIAL WORK/IMPACT OF THE PARTY: No information available
  • HOW DO I JOIN THE PARTY: Anyone interested in joining the ADC party will register through the link